Due to renovations some offices have moved, please check the City Hall Move page for more information.
Human Rights Symposium
How to Nominate

Each year, local leaders, activists, and organizations are honored with a Des Moines Civil & Human Rights award. There are three categories.  Nominations are currently being accepted until January 25, 2018.    Complete details can be found on the application form.  Please consider nominating an individual or organization today.

Former DMCHR Symposium Award Recipients

Below is a list of recent award recipients.  Click HERE for a complete listing of all former DMCHR Symposium Award Recipients. 


  • Business & Industry Award: John R. Grubb YMCA
  • Mary Louise Smith Human Rights Award: EMBARC
  • Porter Dimery, Sr Youth Award: Kaija Carter


  • Business & Industry Award: Evelyn K. Davis Center for Working Families
  • Mary Louise Smith Human Rights Award: Rob Denson, President, DMACC
  • Porter Dimery, Sr Youth Award: Hector Alejandro Salamanca Arroyo

  • Jacqueline Easley McGee- The Mary Louise Smith Award
  • Dr. Kent Henning, President of Grand View University- The Business and Industry Award


  • Anne Bickell- Mary Louise Smith Award

  • Pam Williams, Isiserettes Founder- Mary Louise Smith Award, NAACP Youth Award

  • Veola Perry- Mary Louise Smith Award; William McCarthy, Polk County Sheriff


  • Stella Neill- Mary Louise Smith Human Rights Award
  • Harold A. Goldman- Business and Industry Award
  • Phil Ferguson- Porter Dimery, Sr. Youth Award