Due to renovations some offices have moved, please check the City Hall Move page for more information.
Trails and Greenways Committee
Trails and Greenways Image

The purpose of the Committee is to assist and advise the City of Des Moines Park and Recreation Board, the Polk County Conservation Board and staff from both entities, as well as other government agencies as appropriate, concerning:

The multi-use trail system - its promotion, development, enhancement, connectivity, maintenance and expansion throughout Polk County for recreation, fitness, commuter usage, as well as the effective use of public corridors for bicycle and pedestrian needs; and

The greenway corridors - their preservation, protection and integration of greenways, riparian areas, water trails and public lands to create a system of open space for healthy recreation opportunities, quality of life and wildlife viewing.

For more information contact trails@dmgov.org


2016 Meeting Schedule, Agendas, Minutes, Additional Documents
DateTimeAgendasMinutesAdditional Documents
February 08, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgendaMinutes 
April 11, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgendaMinutes 
June 13, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgendaMinutes 
August 08, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgendaMinutes 
October 10, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgenda Polk County September-October 2016 updates
December 12, 2016 (Monday)6:00 PMAgenda Polk County November-December updates
Other Meeting Schedule, Agendas, Minutes
Committee Members
Member NameAppointed ByOriginal AppointmentAppointment Ends
Linda AppelgateDes MoinesJune 2012June 2018
Vicki FactoDes MoinesFebruary 2013February 2017
Carol GeorgeDes MoinesJanuary 2013January 2017
Tim LaneDes MoinesJanuary 2012January 2018
Scott SumpterDes MoinesOctober 2013October 2017
Jeff CookPolk CountyJanuary 2016January 2018
Alan FosterPolk CountyJanuary 2014January 2018
Tamra JurgemeyerPolk CountyJanuary 2014January 2018
Chris McCarthy (Chair)Polk CountyNovember 2013November 2017
Ginger SoelbergPolk CountyNovember 2013November 2017
Bailey MaderJohnstonJuly 2013July 2017
Olivia SmithPleasant HillJanuary 2016January 2018
Jim BeckerUrbandaleJanuary 2016January 2018
Aaron SewellWest Des MoinesFebruary 2016February 2018