Airport Authority Board
  • Description

    Authority to govern the operation of the Des Moines International Airport.

  • General Requirements

    GENDER BALANCE REQUIRED - The authority is governed by a 5 member board made up of residents of the city. The Mayor shall nominate members of the board for appointment by the council. Appointments will be for terms of four years; except that, of the initial board, two members chosen by lot will be appointed for two year terms. Board members serve at the pleasure of the council and may be reappointed without limit. The city manager, or his or her designee, is an ex officio, nonvoting member of the board.

  • Professional Requirements

    Board members should have expertise in aviation, business, accounting, finance, marketing, engineering, law, real estate development, management or other fields of value to the operation of the airport. Roll Call 11-0244, dated February 14, 2011.Ordinance 14,989, Section 22-53-54 Board appointments.

  • Membership Term Information

    4 years

    • Term Limits

      Term limits do not apply

    • Term Expiration

      June 30

  • Meeting Information

    • Meeting Freqeuency

      Monthly - Second Tuesday of each month

    • Meeting Time

      9:00 AM

Meeting Location
  • Airport Board Room / Floor Conference Center - Room: 2nd floor
  • 5800 Fleur Drive
  • Des Moines, Iowa 50321
City Staff
  • Kevin Foley, 515-256-5100
  • Mary Benson, Board Clerk 515-256-5100

Links of Interest