Traffic Safety Committee
  • Description

    The Traffic Safety Committee is an advisory body to the City Council. The Committee meeting agenda regularly contains a wide variety of traffic and parking concerns, with an emphasis on school crossings, neighborhood traffic, and other transportation safety issues.

  • General Requirements

    Nine voting members, eight of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. One member shall be appointed by each Council Member with two members appointed by the Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide.. The term of office of the eight appointed members shall be staggered terms of three years. Expiration of all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Ordinance15,222, Roll Call 13-1579 - October 7, 2013.

  • Membership Term Information

    Three years

    • Term Limits

      Term limits apply

    • Term Expiration

      December 31

  • Meeting Information

    • Meeting Freqeuency

      Second Tuesday of each month

    • Meeting Time

      7:30 AM

Meeting Location
  • City Hall / Floor 2nd Floor - South End - Room: City Council Chambers
  • 400 Robert D. Ray Drive
  • Des Moines, Iowa 50309
City Staff
  • Jennifer McCoy 283-4973