Sister Cities Commission
  • Description

    Created to further economic cooperation/cultural exchange between Des Moines and foreign cities, recommend cities appropriate for designation as Sister Cities, and to coordinate Sister City activities. Representatives from Clive and West Des Moines (seats 16 and 17) have been deleted per Manager's Office of 11/4/13. City of Cumming was added on June 9, 2014 by roll call 14-0905. Ordinance 15,288

  • General Requirements

    Fifteen members: the Mayor is honorary chair of the commission; the regular chair shall be appointed by the Mayor; and the remaining officers of the commission shall be elected by the members thereof. Other cities representatives are not subject to term limits 2-1116 C (2)

  • Membership Term Information

    Five years

    • Term Limits

      Term limits do not apply

    • Term Expiration

      April 28

  • Meeting Information

    • Meeting Freqeuency

      Second Tuesday of each month

    • Meeting Time

      5:00 PM

Meeting Location
  • Richard Clark Municipal Services Center / Floor First floor - Room: MacRae Conference Room
  • 1551 E. Martin Luther King, Jr. Parkway
  • Des Moines, Iowa 50317
City Staff
  • Joyce Warburton 283-4141